# **HCL BRIDGE TOURNAMENT – 18<sup>th</sup> to 21<sup>st</sup> Dec 2003**

## **SUMMARY**

The Tournament started with the Team of Four event. Around 50 teams were expected but the turn out was far less, may be because lot of Bridge Tournaments have taken place recently and Nationals are also coming in a short while. There were 35 teams comprising players from all over India. Formidables, Agsar Paints, Well Knit, Tolani Shipping, DSM & MONOTONA were some of the top teams who participated in the tournament.

#### Team of Four Event:

**AZURE** Team (Surender Hooda, Mrs. Rita Chokshi, Badal Das, Pranab Bardhan, Sumit Mukherjee & Shibnath Dey Sarkar) and **Tolani Shipping** (R.A. Agarwal, R. Bhiwandkar, Arvind Vaidya & Dr. J. Mukund) with 183 VPs, topped the 10 rounds Round-Robin stage to finalize the quarter-finalists. The quarter finalists were:

1.	AZURE	-	183 VPs (VP Product – 29053)
2.	Tolani Shipping	-	183 VPs (VP Product – 28894)
3.	Formidables	-	182 VPs
4.	Agsar Paints	-	175 VPs (VP Product – 28452)
5.	Phoenix	-	175 VPs (VP Product – 26247)
6.	Calcutta Bridge Club	-	173 VPs
7.	WELLKNIT	-	170 VPs
8.	MAYA-MIRA	-	165 VPs

The first 3 teams had the right to choose their opponents as per the priority of their ranking in the round robin stage.

#### The Quarterfinal line up was:

1.	AZURE	Vs.	MAYA-MIRA
2.	Tolani Shipping	Vs.	Calcutta Bridge Club
3.	Formidables	Vs.	Phoenix
4.	Agsar Paints	Vs.	Well Knit

In the 4\*14 boards Quarter Finals **AZURE** beat MAYA-MIRA **134-32** (69-12, 65-20, third set conceded); **CALCUTTA BRIDGE CLUB** beat Tolani Shipping **119-83** (C/0 0-10, 41-28, 32-36, 46-9); **Formidables** beat Phoenix **114-79** (19-36, 54-18, 41-25) and in a very tough tussle between both Chennai teams **WELLKNIT** beat Agsar Paints by **77-71** (43-32, 9-20, 25-19). The Semi final line up was:

AZURE	Vs.	WELLKNIT
Formidables	Vs.	CALCUTTA BRIDGE CLUB

In the first of the 3\*16 boards semi-final, **WELLKNIT (C.R. Badrinath, R. Krishnan, J.M. Shah, P. Sridhar, Sundarram, R. Venkatesh) beat** AZURE (Surender Hooda, Mrs. Rita Chokshi, Badal Das, Pranab Bardhan, Sumit Mukherjee & Shibnath Dey Sarkar) by **125 – 96 IMPs (55-21, 25-23, 45-52**)

In the second semi-final, **CALCUTTA BRIDGE CLUB (B. Todi, Kamal Roy, S. Lahiri, Alok Sadhu, A.B. Chakravarty, B. Saha)** beat Formidables (Mrs. Kiran Nadar, B. Satyanarayana, Subhash Gupt, Rajeshwar Tewari, Sunit Chokshi & K.R. Venkatraman) by **107- 100 IMPs (47-31, 31-29, 29-40).** 

So it was **WELLKNIT Vs. CALCUTTA BRIDGE CLUB** in the FINALS of T-4.

In the 4\*16 boards final **CALCUTTA BRIDGE CLUB** finally prevailed over WELLKNIT by **1 IMP** in a ding-dong battle which went right up to the last session. The final score was **147-146(32-44, 37-20, 37-50, 41-32)**. Well done both the teams for providing a scintillating Final.

**Congratulations to the CALCUTTA BRIDGE CLUB (B. Todi, Kamal Roy, S. Lahiri, Alok Sadhu, A.B. Chakravarty & B. Saha).** The loser WELLKNIT team was represented by C.R. Badrinath, R. Krishnan, J.M. Shah, P. Sridhar, S. Sundarram & R. Venkatesh.

### **PAIRS Event:**

The Pairs Tournament started with 89 Pairs taking part in the event. There were 2 elimination rounds each played in 2 sessions. In the first elimination 69 Pairs (excluding the 20 pairs who qualified for the T-4 event) participated. They were put in three sections and after playing 2 sessions of 20 boards each, 42 Pairs went through to the  $2^{nd}$  elimination round. In the  $2^{nd}$  elimination there were 52 pairs (42 qualifiers + 10 losing quarter finalists) put into 2 sections. They again played a 2 session \* 20 boards elimination round out of which the best 13 NS + 13 EW out of the two sections qualified for the Pairs Finals. They were joined by the six losing semi-finalists pairs to constitute the final 32 for FINALS. In the 62 boards Final the winners of the event were:

B. Satyanarayana – Kiran Nadar	536.00
Sumit Mukherjee – B. Das	517.37
R.A. Agarwal – Mukund Jaganathan	516.97
P. Kushari – D. Roy	515.53
A. Sinha – B.N. Rastogi	515.53
C.S. Majumder – S. Das	501.80
S. Sarkar – P. Bardhan	495.20
Ashim Mukherjee – Kinshuk Bhattacharya	493.97
	Sumit Mukherjee – B. Das R.A. Agarwal – Mukund Jaganathan P. Kushari – D. Roy A. Sinha – B.N. Rastogi C.S. Majumder – S. Das S. Sarkar – P. Bardhan

The event got over with the Prize distribution. Mr. Shiv Nadar, Chairman HCL Corporation gave away the prizes to the winners.

(Reported by T.C. Pant)