All India HCL Bridge Tournament 2006 Hotel Radisson, NOIDA 12th – 15th August 2006 (Sponsor: HCL Corporation Ltd.)

Under the auspices of



CONTRACT BRIDGE ASSOCIATION Regn No. SYSTEMPOOS Holding the flame of Indian Bridge alofe Daily Bulletin

Editor: T. C. Pant & Subhash Gupta Courtesy: All Participants

15th Aug 2006

It is J.P. Goenka Vs. Manas Saha's IV in Finals of T-4

The last 2 sessions of Quarterfinals & the 3-session Semi Finals were played yesterday in the T-4 event. In the 3*12 boards Quarter Finals **Dhampur Sugar Mills beat** Maharaja team (S. Lahiri, Amal Kundu, Kalyan Choudhury, Suman Sengupta, Mrinal Mukherjee & Samir Pal) by 57 IMPs (C/O: 12-0, 57-12, 24-27, 16-13); **Shree Radhey** beat Pankaj Mehta's team (Pankaj Mehta, Punit Gangal, A.B. Chakravarty, Bhavesh Saha, Pradeep Anand Singh & S. Bandopadhyay) by 37 IMPs (C/O: 0-5, 80-8, 17-37, 23-33); **Manas Saha's IV** beat Nest Inn (N.R. Kripakara Murthy, B. Prabhakar, R. Krishnan, P. Sridhar, J.M. Shah & Uttam Gupta) by 15 IMP (33-23, 19-20, 40-34) and **J.P. GOENKA** beat MAHESHWARI (I.K. Agarwal, B.N. Rastogi, Sushil Agarwal, V.K. Agarwal, B.K. Agarwal, A.K. Sinha) by 16 IMPs (C/O: 3-0, 31-18, 7-27, 33-13).

The Semi final line up was: J.P. Goenka Vs. Dhampur Sugar Mills & Shree Radhey Vs. Manas Saha's IV.

In the first of the 3*14 boards semi-final, J.P. Goenka (J.P. Goenka, Pritish Kushari, Alok Sadhu, Badal Das, Shib Nath Dey Sarkar & Sumit Mukherjee) beat Dhampur Sugar Mills (Ashok Goel, Kamal Mukherjee, Kamal Roy, Debashish Roy, Sandeep Thakral & R. Venkatesh) by 144-87 (48-55, 42-19, 54-13). In the second semi-final, Manas Saha's IV (Manas Saha, S. Roy, D. Majumder, S. Chowdhury, P. Roy, Kaustabh Nandi) beat Shree Radhey (V.M. Lal, R.G. Bhiwandkar, P. R. Bafna, Ashok Vaidya) by 124-69 (28-35, 35-24, 61-10)

So today, we all hope to witness an interesting tussle between the **J.P. Goenka & Manas Saha** teams in the 4*16 boards FINALS of Team of Four event.

Today's Schedule

0900 – 1110 Hrs	T-4 Finals, Session – I (16 boards)		
0900 – 1330 Hrs	Pairs, Finals - Session I (32 Boards)		
1130 – 1340 Hrs	T-4 Finals, Session – II (16 boards)		
1330 – 1430 Hrs	Lunch		
1430 – 1640 Hrs	T-4 Finals, Session – III (16 boards)		
1430 – 1900 Hrs	Pairs, Finals – Session II		
1700 – 1910 Hrs	T-4 Finals, Session – IV (16 boards)		
1945 Hrs	Prize Distribution & Closing Ceremony		

OPEN PAIRS

147 pairs participated in the Open Pairs event. These pairs went through two grueling eliminations rounds. In the first elimination 124 Pairs (excluding the qualified pairs for the T-4 event) participated. They were put in six sections and after playing 2 sessions of 18 boards each, 48 qualified Pairs went through to the 2nd elimination round. There 12 losing quarterfinalists pairs of the team event joined them.

and these 60 pairs are fighting it out for a berth in the final to be played tomorrow. After the first session Subhash Gupta – Rajeshwar Tiwari (65.48%) and Biman Chatterjee – Shankar Acharya (60.71%) were leading in the North-South & East-West positions respectively. The second session is in progress right now.

In the 2nd elimination the 60 pairs were put into 2 sections and played a 2-session (22 boards each) elimination round from which the top 12 NS & 12 EW pairs qualified for the Pairs Finals. The qualifiers will be joined by the six losing semi-finalists pairs and 2 pairs of Sponsor's quota to constitute the final 32 for today's exciting FINALS.

As this is the last BULLETIN of the tournament, besides saying GOOD BYES to each other, we would request you to be there for the Prize Distribution & Closing ceremony (The Hon'ble Minister of Sports, Mr. Mani Shankar Aiyer, will be the chief guest) and share the evening with the winners and the ones who missed out.

PAIR	N-S Pair	PAIR	N-S Pair
#		#	
1	DSM - 1	17	DSM - 2
2	SHREE RADHEY - 1	18	SHREE RADHEY - 2
3	AMARNATH BANERJEE - GOBIND SINHA	19	S. SARKAR - H. HASAN
4	J.M. SHAH - P. SRIDHAR	20	R. KRISHNAN - UTTAM GUPTA
5	K.R. VENKATRAMAN - SUNIT CHOKSHI	21	BIMAN CHATTERJEE - SANKAR ACHARYA
6	S VAIDYA - R SHRIDHAR	22	SAPAN DESAI - ANIKET SANGHVI
7	DSM - 3	23	S SOME - D BOSE
8	K N JAISWAL - T P KHARE	24	SPONSOR - 2
9	MANASH KUKHERJEE - RANA ROY	25	C S MAJUMDAR - S BASAK
10	BIJLANI - SHAM SHARMA	26	J BISWAS - S P GHOSH
11	D PODDAR - K S SAMANT	27	DR R DALAL - CHETAN SHAH
12	C M KULKARNI - K N SHYAM SUNDAR	28	SUBIR MAJUMDAR- PRASUN MUKHERJEE
13	SPONSOR - 1	29	RAJENDRA GOKHALE - RAJU TOLANI
14	PARVEZ MIRZA - TARIQ RASHEED KHAN	30	ASHOK BHAWANANI - DR YOGESH SHAH
15	A.K. SINHA - B.N. RASTOGI	31	SAMIR PAL - AMAL KUNDU
16	KIRAN NADAR - B. SATYANARAYANA	32	SUBHASH GUPTA - RAJESHWAR TIWARI

OPEN PAIRS FINALISTS

SESSION WINNERS- OPEN PAIRS

Elimination – 1:

Section 'A' & 'B' Combined: NS: D. Poddar – K.S. Samant EW: C.M. Kulkarni – K.N. Shyamsunder

Section 'C' & 'D' Combined: NS: R.V. Ramani – R. Sree Krishnan EW: N.C. Bhattacharya – R.A. Siddique

Section 'E' & 'F' Combined: NS: R.A. Agarwal – Archie Sequeira EW: Subir Majumdar – Prasun Mukherjee

Elimination – 2:

NS: Amarnath Banerjee – Gobind Singha EW: R. Krishnan – Uttam Gupta

CONSOLATION PAIR EVENT WINNERS (14.08.2006)

45 Pairs participated in the consolation Pair event held yesterday. There were 4 prizes and the winners were:

- 1. Paresh Gupta Amarjit
- 2. G.N. Manna Flinton Lewis
- 3. A.K. Upadhyay Girish Kumar
- 4. D.K. Das D. Shee

There will be another Consolation event starting today at 1500 Hrs. All nonqualifiers to Pairs finals are welcome to join the event.

THANK YOU ONE AND ALL

- P THE PLAYERS
- P THE OFFICIALS
- P THE VOLUNTEERS
- P THE SPONSORS
- P THE MEDIA
- P THE HOSPITALITY GROUP

We will try and improve upon whatever little we have been able to put together.

SEE YOU ALL NEXT TIME

NAMASKAR GOOD BYE SAYO NARA

From The Organising Team